I Need You

Her world was shaken
In what way,
I do not know
My first thought was
“Stay strong”
but that didn’t feel right
And as I thought about her
in her time of need
I hoped that she would reach out
maybe to a good friend
and try not to shoulder this burden on her own
Because sometimes
we need to say
“I need you”
even if it’s just a hand to hold
or a shoulder to cry on
Sometimes we have to remember
that we don’t have to do everything
on our own
We have to remember that friends aren’t there
just for the good times
but for the bad times too
DRM 2015

Inspired, in part, by Rebekah at http://barrentobeautiful.com/2015/08/12/three-little-words-that-ignite-friendship/

14 thoughts on “I Need You

  1. I had sat down to write something similar to this, about ‘need’, but then the hardest thing for me to ever admit is that I need someone, even when I do. This is beautiful. Thank you for sharing! ❤

    Like

    • I have the same problem. I can remember in the past not reaching out when I should have and (in the short run) hurting someone because I didn’t turn to her for support when I should have. It’s hard to ask for help.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes it is, especially when you are supposed to be the strong one, and everyone keeps saying how strong you are. It’s like people telling me that I have overcome so much so I shouldn’t feel this way…how then can someone who feels completely weak be ok reaching out? Everyone has their breaking point, you know? *sigh*….sorry for rambling, Dan.

        Like

      • Never a problem my dear. I was thinking the exact same thing when I wrote this. I guess we have to realize that we don’t have to be strong all the time; that it is okay to ask for help. The people who love us will understand if we need a helping hand or shoulder. It is okay to allow ourselves to be “weak” from time to time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • You know what’s (not) funny? When I tell someone that I feel weak, or that life is knocking me off of my feet, they laugh and say, “that is not you”. Really? You’re right though, it is okay to feel this way and ask for help. I just wish sometimes that people could see that there are two sides to me, not just the warrior.

        Like

      • That is rough and definitely makes it harder to ask for help or at least a little understanding. The only thing that comes to mind is the more often we show all of our sides, the more likely people are to be understanding. At least with people we trust. I hope that makes sense.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It makes perfect sense. I try to do that a lot too, but most of the time I can only do it in writing. Being vulnerable is a scary thing for me, given my past. It’s only recently that I started to remove those walls, so I guess it will just take time. I may write later about it, and maybe it will help ❤

        Like

      • I understand. I do see it in your writing. I’m glad that you are slowly taking down those walls. It is scary stuff.

        I’m off to work. I’ve enjoyed our back and forth. Hang in there and I’ll be thinking about you guys.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Me too, so thank you for talking with me! Hope you have a wonderful afternoon, and your thoughts mean a lot! ❤

        Like

Feedback is always welcome. Sometimes it even inspires me.

