Broken Open

It was an early morning
when my heart was finally broken open
When all of the feelings that I used to easily keep at bay
finally came flooding in
As I think upon that night
and how the tears come much easier
and how fragile my heart has become
I realize it is both a blessing and a curse
A blessing
to be more compassionate
and able to put my thoughts and feelings onto the page
with little effort
A curse
to have my heart destroyed with little effort
To be this fragile being in such an unforgiving world
makes me wonder how long I will survive in it
DRM 2015

Feedback is always welcome. Sometimes it even inspires me.

