In The Beginning…

This is an excerpt from “Exonerated of rape, Brian Banks now realizing NFL dream – in different capacity” found at http://sports.yahoo.com/news/exonerated-of-rape–brian-banks-realizing-nfl-dream-–-in-different-capacity-005927279-nfl.html

“The biggest thing you must remember is the mindset you have – what were the initial things you said to yourself as a young kid? Everything you said, that’s who you are. That’s the foundation, the essence of football. Why did you want to play? How did it make you feel? When the hands start coming out, you have to remember what it is you came here to do, why you initially wanted to do it. You have it, take pride in it. There are millions of people who went for the same opportunity and you made it. It’s a blessing. It’s a gift. Don’t ruin this by bad decision-making.”

I read this and thought about writing. Why did I start writing poetry? Why did I start a blog? I think sometimes we forget that. We get wrapped up in “likes” and “comments”. We get upset when our “views” aren’t as high as we’re used to.

When I first started blogging back in 2011, I didn’t know anything about tags. I had fourteen followers the first year, and two of them knew me from a forum we visited. To be honest, I didn’t really care. I just wanted a safe place to share my writing. To be honest, I’m kind of glad I was hard to find. My early stuff makes me cringe for the most part. Sure, there’s the occasional gem, but they are few and far between in my opinion.

So when blogging gets you down because people don’t “get” what you’ve written, or your traffic has slowed, take a minute. Take a minute to remind yourself why you got into this in the first place. Think about why you started a blog. It might do you some good.
DRM 2015

Feedback is always welcome. Sometimes it even inspires me.

