A Simple Man

How did I get so lucky
to have her in my life
How is it me that got singled out
from all the others knocking at her door
What makes me so special
that I was chosen to be loved and adored
Even though she’s told me a hundred times
I still don’t get it
Because I’m just a simple man you understand
What you see is what you get
I have no ambition
no master plan
I just want to love and be loved
and make enough to lead a nice simple life
But whatever her reasoning
you won’t see me complain
Because she’s the love of my life
and I am such a happy man
DRM 2014

7 thoughts on “A Simple Man

  1. Wow! You may be a “simple man”, as you say….but you are warm, passionate, kind, loving and compassionate. You are the complete package that has yet to be unwrapped and delicately handled. The love of your life is one heck of a lucky woman β™₯

    Like

  2. I wonder about the same thing, what do they see? But In the end, even simplicity is enough to outshine the rest. This really is a beautiful poem, and inspiring too πŸ˜‰

    Like

Feedback is always welcome. Sometimes it even inspires me.

